MirrorSocialSites.com – Gotten a message that says your MySpace profile was copied to MirrorSocialSites.com and wondered what the heck was going on?
MirrorSocialSites.com is basically a website designed to trick the unwary into falling for a scam that makes the site’s owners money.
The message that you got on MySpace or Facebook telling you that your profile and pics had been copied to the MirrorSocialSites website was all part of a sophisticated scam.
What they do is trick people into giving up their personal information, starting with their email and password.
The scam uses an automated script to login at whatever site you said referred you and then it sends fake MySpace bulletins to all your friends, posts spam comments promoting the MirrorSocialSites.com website, and even makes fake blog posts.
Every week, the spam and scam group behind all this puts up five or six phony sites just like this one. They are all served up by a script located at http://www.destination-server.com/taf/taf.html
If you click that link, you’ll see the exact same website as MirrorSocialSites.com, so don’t fall for this scam.
All they want to do is trick you into believing you have a “free gift” coming, in this case a Dell laptop.
Of course, you have to complete 16 different merchant offers to get your free gift and they earn a big commission on each one of those offers.
The fine print is several pages long, but you won’t be getting a free laptop anytime soon!
And then you find out that there isn’t anything else on the MirrorSocialSites website at all.
There are no pics of you there, nor is there any copy of your Myspace profile there. It’s all a big scam!
For more details on how the whole MirrorSocialSites scam works, read this earlier post which goes into great detail about it:
http://a11news.com/105/saveyourprofile-com/
And that’s the latest news on why you shouldn’t believe what you see at MirrorSocialSites.com.
Tags: fake myspace bulletins, MirrorSocialSites, MirrorSocialSites.com, myspace, ringtones scam, scam, spam and scam
May 23rd, 2008 at 1:05 pm
MySpace message used to promote the scam is usually something like:
“Someones copying our myspace pics and adding captions under them at mirrorsocialsites.com”
May 25th, 2008 at 4:19 am
[...] admin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptMirrorSocialSites.com – Gotten a message that says your MySpace profile was copied to MirrorSocialSites.com and wondered what the heck was going on? MirrorSocialSites.com is basically a website designed to trick the unwary into falling for a scam that makes the site’s owners money. The message that you got on MySpace or Facebook telling you that your profile […] [...]
September 9th, 2009 at 3:00 am
I enjoyed reading this – very informative and useful information without a bunch of BS!
I’ll pass it along to some friends
Thanks Again