ProfileMirrors.com – Gotten a MySpace message that says your profile and pics were copied to ProfileMirrors.com and wondered what the heck was going on?
ProfileMirrors.com is basically a website designed to trick MySpace users into falling for a scam that makes this website’s owners money.
The message that you got on MySpace or Facebook telling you that your profile and pics had been copied to the ProfileMirrors website is all part of a sophisticated spam and scam operation.
What they do is trick people into giving up their personal information, starting with their email and password, than move on to try to get your name, address, and phone number.
The scam uses an automated script to login at whatever site you said referred you and then it sends fake MySpace bulletins to all your friends, posts spam comments promoting the ProfileMirrors.com website, and even makes fake blog posts.
Every week, the spam and scam group behind all this puts up five or six phony sites just like this one that targets MySpace and Facebook users.
All the fake websites in this scam are served up by a script located at http://www.destination-server.com/taf/taf.html
If you click that link, you’ll see the exact same website as ProfileMirrors.com, so don’t fall for this scam.
All they want to do is trick you into believing you have a “free gift” coming, in this case a Dell laptop.
Of course, you have to complete 16 different merchant offers to get your free gift and they earn a big commission on each one of those offers.
The fine print is several pages long, but basically you won’t be getting a free laptop anytime soon!
And then you find out that there isn’t anything else on the ProfileMirrors website at all.
There are no pics of you there, nobody is comment on your pics there, nor is there any copy of your Myspace profile there. It’s all a big scam!
For more details on how the whole ProfileMirrors scam works, read this earlier post which goes into great detail about it:
http://a11news.com/105/saveyourprofile-com/
Or, read more in the related posts below…
And that’s the latest news on why you shouldn’t believe what you see at ProfileMirrors.com.
Tags: fake myspace bulletins, MirrorSocialSites.com, myspace, OwnYourFriendArchive.com, ProfileMirror, ProfileMirror.com, ringtones scam, saveyourprofile.com, scam, spam and scam
May 25th, 2008 at 9:56 am
[...] Nicholas Farrelly wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptProfileMirrors.com – Gotten a MySpace message that says your profile and pics were copied to ProfileMirrors.com and wondered what the heck was going on? ProfileMirrors.com is basically a website designed to trick MySpace users into falling for a scam that makes this website’s owners money. The message that you got on MySpace or Facebook telling you that […] [...]
May 28th, 2008 at 4:31 am
Hi, Can you do me this favour pls?
Could you pls delete the stuff getting on my myspace website from BET. Not interested in this bet stuff. In fact in has messed up my site. Thanx and hope to hear from yoy soon.
Peter King