SocialProfileMirror.com - Gotten a MySpace message that says - Did someone hack into your messages and post them all on socialprofilemirror.com - and wondered what the heck was going on?

Screenshot of SocialProfileMirror.com website

SocialProfileMirror.com is basically a website designed to trick MySpace users into falling for a scam that makes this website’s owners money, but it also exposes you to identity theft.

The message that you got on MySpace or Facebook telling you that your profile, messages and pics had been copied to the SocialProfileMirror website is all part of a sophisticated spam and scam operation.

Source code for the SocialProfileMirror website reveals iframe script location

What they do is trick people into giving up their personal information, starting with their email and password, then move on to try to get your name, address, and phone number.

The scam uses an automated script to login at whatever site you said referred you and then it sends fake MySpace bulletins to all your friends, posts spam comments promoting the SocialProfileMirror.com website, and even makes fake blog posts.

Fake MySpace blog post promoting the SocialProfileMirror website

Every week, the spam and scam group behind all this puts up five or six phony sites just like this one that targets MySpace and Facebook users.

All the fake websites in this scam are served up by a script located at http://www.destination-server.com/taf/taf.html

If you click that link, you’ll see the exact same website as SocialProfileMirror.com, so don’t fall for this scam.

Fake free gift popup at socialprofilemirror website

All they want to do is trick you into believing you have a “free gift” coming, in this case a Dell laptop.

Of course, you have to complete 16 different merchant offers to get your free gift and they earn a big commission on each one of those offers.

Fake offer for free dell laptop at socialprofilemirror.com website

The fine print is several pages long, but basically you won’t be getting a free laptop anytime soon!

And then you find out that there isn’t anything else on the SocialProfileMirror website at all.

There are no pics of you there, nobody is comment on your pics there, nor is there any copy of your Myspace profile there. It’s all a big scam!

Here’s just a few of the websites used by this scam in the last two weeks:

  • socialprofilemirror.com
  • profilemirrors.com
  • ownyourfriendarchive.com
  • tradepeopleprofiles.com
  • friendownership.com
  • mirrorsocialsites.com
  • bulletinpics.com
  • peepatpeeps.com
  • buddyspots.com
  • saveyour profile.com
  • seepeopleprofiles.com

For more details on how the whole SocialProfileMirror scam works, read this earlier post which goes into deeper into it with lots more screenshots:

http://a11news.com/105/saveyourprofile-com/

If you’re getting these kind of posts on your Myspace blog, change your password.

And that’s the latest news on why you shouldn’t believe what you see at SocialProfileMirror.com.

Tags: fake myspace bulletins, MirrorSocialSites.com, myspace, OwnYourFriendArchive.com, ProfileMirror.com, ringtones scam, saveyourprofile.com, scam, seepeopleprofiles, seepeopleprofiles.com, socialprofilemirror, socialprofilemirror.com, spam and scam

Related posts